For the Media

Search Archive


Contact Us

Main & Health Science Campus
University Hall

Room: 2110
Mail Stop 949
Phone: 419.530.2002
Fax: 419.530.4618

Pacemaker Awards honor Sharon Speyer, outstanding UT business students

The University of Toledo College of Business and Innovation and the Business Engagement and Leadership Council will recognize both business and academic excellence during their 51stth annual Pacemaker Awards on Friday, March 28 at Inverness Country Club.

The 2014 recipient of the Business Pacemaker Award is Sharon Speyer, president, Northwest Ohio Region, Huntington National Bank.

Speyer has been with Huntington Bank and its predecessor banks since 1992. Huntington National Bank, a subsidiary of Huntington Bancshares, is a $59 billion regional bank holding company headquartered in Columbus, Ohio. In addition to her role as President, Speyer previously served as general counsel for Sky Bank.

Speyer received her juris doctorate from The University of Toledo College of Law after earning her Bachelor of Arts degree in International Studies from The Ohio State University.

Speyer serves on numerous boards and committees including: ASPIRE; Marathon Classic Executive Board; Regional Growth Partnership Board; Toledo-Lucas County Port Authority Board; and the Toledo Symphony Board of Trustees. She is also vice chair of UT’s Board of Trustees.

“Sharon Speyer’s highly successful career, community involvement and outstanding leadership make her the ideal business professional to receive this year’s Pacemaker Award,” said Dr. Thomas Sharkey, interim dean of the College of Business and Innovation. “Furthermore, her commitment to The University of Toledo, both as an alumna and as a concerned officer of the Board of Trustees, is to be applauded.”

“From Stephen Stranahan to Robert Savage, Harold McMaster to Marianne Ballas, recipients of the Pacemaker Award over the past five decades read as a Who’s Who of current and legendary business leaders in the Toledo region,” Sharkey said. “As the College’s highest honor, the Pacemaker Award recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in business as well as contributions to the community and the University.”

Student Pacemaker Awards are presented to UT College of Business and Innovation graduate and undergraduate students for their outstanding academic achievement, service and leadership.

The 2014 student Pacemakers are: Accounting – Todd Fry and Megan Massi; Finance – Ethan Barteck and Justin Blake; Information Operations Technology Management – Robert Cagle and Cody Mohler; Management – Taylor Juza and Amy Cress; Marketing/International Business – Nicholas Dorner and Nicole Diegel; MBA – Leandra Hutchinson; Ph.D. – Nehemiah Scott.

Media Coverage
The Blade (March 27, 2014)


is UT's Media Relations Specialist. Contact her at 419.530.2077 or
Email this author | All posts by

Comments are closed.