For the Media

Search Archive


Contact Us

Main & Health Science Campus
University Hall

Room: 2110
Mail Stop 949
Phone: 419.530.2002
Fax: 419.530.4618

UT to honor past presidents at residence hall renaming ceremony

The University of Toledo will host a renaming ceremony Friday, Feb. 28, for Presidents Hall, formerly known as the Crossings.

“The ceremony is an opportunity to honor our past presidents and to bring the community together,” Virginia Speight, UT director of residence life, said.

Presidents Hall, located in the southwest corner of UT Main Campus, honors four past presidents with each wing bearing the name of a former University leader — third President John Worthington Dowd, seventh President Philip Curtis Nash, eighth President Wilbur Wallace White and 15th President Daniel M. Johnson.

With the removal of Dowd, Nash and White halls last year, the University wanted to find a way to continue to recognize leaders who helped shape the institution, Speight said.

The ceremony will be at 1 p.m. in the second-floor lounge area of the residence hall followed by a reception on the first floor.

The dedication will be led by Dr. Kaye Patten Wallace, senior vice president for the student experience, and will include remarks by UT President Lloyd Jacobs, UT Board of Trustees Chair Joseph Zerbey and Johnson, who served as UT president from 2001 to 2006.

Media Coverage
The Blade (March 1, 2014)
WNWO (March 4, 2014)

is UT's Director of University Communications. Contact her at 419.530.2410 or
Email this author | All posts by

Comments are closed.