For the Media

Search Archive


Contact Us

Main & Health Science Campus
University Hall

Room: 2110
Mail Stop 949
Phone: 419.530.2002
Fax: 419.530.4618

UT Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi to initiate new members

The University of Toledo Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi will hold its initiation ceremony for new members Sunday, April 22, at 1 p.m. in Student Union Room 2582.

More than 100 undergraduate and graduate students and three UT faculty members will be inducted into the honor society this year. Dr. Curtis Black, UT professor emeritus of pharmacy and national Phi Kappa Phi vice president for finance, will present the keynote address.

Inductees into the honorary must be in the top 7.5 percent of the junior class in their college, or the top 10 percent of their senior or graduate school college to qualify for membership.

In addition to inducting new members, the society will honor three scholarship winners and the chapter’s nominee for the national Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship Award.

The chapter is awarding three $500 scholarships this year. The winners were selected based upon academic performance, an essay and letters of recommendation from faculty members. The winners of the scholarships areYasmine Ayoub (Sylvania), Jeanetta Mohlke-Hill (Toledo) and Jessica Wenninger (Paulding County, Ohio).

Ayoub is a freshman majoring in pre-med and biology. She is a student in the Honors College and volunteers at the Lake Park Nursing Facility in Sylvania. One of her nominators for the scholarship noted, “She is a very talented student and is devoted to pursuing a career as a physician.”

Mohlke-Hill is a junior majoring in women’s and gender studies. Also in the Honors College, Mohlke-Hill is assistant director of the UT Writing Center, where she tutors students. She has received numerous scholarships for studies in the humanities and has presented research at a national conference. She is working on her senior thesis project, which examines how girls today are taught through popular culture to embody feminism.

Wenninger is a freshman majoring in exercise science and is in the Pre-Physical Therapy Program and the Honors College. In her scholarship application essay, she described the personal impact of a volunteer summer trip to help a deaf village in Montego Bay, Jamaica. She has continued her volunteer efforts by working at an orphanage in Mexico last year, and helping to clean up after a tornado in Alabama over spring break this year. One of her nominators for the scholarship noted her strong critical thinking skills and writing abilities.

The UT Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi also will honor its nominee for the national Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship Award, Lisa Marie Kitzler. One graduating senior is selected by the chapter each year for nomination as a national fellow. Kitzler will pursue graduate study in the field of speech-language pathology.

In addition to the undergraduate and graduate students who will be inducted into the honor society, UT faculty members will be inducted. They are Dr. Susanna Hapgood, assistant professor of curriculum and instruction in the Judith Herb College of Education, Health Science and Human Service; Dr. Barbara Mann, assistant professor in the Honors College; and Dr. Nagi Naganathan, dean of the College of Engineering.

For more information, contact Dr. Mohamed Samir Hefzy, UT Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi president, at 419.530.6086.

is UT's Director of University Communications. Contact her at 419.530.2410 or
Email this author | All posts by

Comments are closed.