For the Media

Search Archive


Contact Us

Main & Health Science Campus
University Hall

Room: 2110
Mail Stop 949
Phone: 419.530.2002
Fax: 419.530.4618

Emergency Medicine Wall of Honor adds three inductees

The 4th annual Emergency Medicine Wall of Honor Induction Ceremony at The University of Toledo Health Science Campus will be honoring three inductees on Tuesday, Sept. 9.

A reception will take place at the Radisson at UTMC at 11:30 a.m.

A plaque for each honoree will be added to the wall, located in the Emergency Department of UTMC, near the ambulance entrance.

The Emergency Medicine Wall of Honor, made possible through funding from The Blade, was established in 2011 to recognize individual achievement and self-sacrifice in the EMS and Emergency Medicine community. Nominations are submitted by community stakeholders and reviewed by a multi-disciplinary selection committee.

This year’s honorees include:
– Peter Jaegly, EMT – Jaegly served 20 years in multiple capacities for Toledo Fire and Rescue. He began EMT training in 1993, later being promoted to Lieutenant, Captain and finishing his career as Battalion Chief.
– Virginia Reidy, R.N. – Reidy dedicated more than 30 years of her life to emergency medicine and served as an EMS and nursing instructor for Providence Hospital’s Paramedic Program and UT’s EMS Program. She educated thousands of nursing students, EMS providers and medical professionals throughout northwest Ohio.
– Dr. Joseph R. Stevens – Stevens was a staff physician in the 1960s at Mercy Hospital of Toledo and recognized care in the emergency room could be improved. His proposal of staffing the ER with attending physicians revolutionized ER procedures in northwest Ohio.

For more information, contact Tammy Brittain at 419.383.6383 or


is UT's Media Relations Specialist. Contact her at 419.530.2077 or
Email this author | All posts by

Comments are closed.